About

10356723_10201448458248264_41624903764688473_n

Hi! I’m Amanda. Currently, I am a 25 year old, 3rd year graduate student in mechanical engineering at North Carolina State University. I live in Raleigh, NC with my boyfriend, Steve, and our dog, Indy. My graduate focus is in nanotechnology-enabled, wearable tech (think FitBit but cooler). Even though my degree is in mechanical engineering, I am funded by the electrical engineering department and work in the textile engineering department. Confused yet? So are the admins. On the rare chance I am not working, traveling for work, rearranging plans for work, or procrastinating at work, I really like running. And cooking. And triathlons. And music. And Dr. Who. And a whole lot of other things that will inevitably be talked about at some point.

Disclaimer: I may post a workout on occasion, but I am not a certified trainer in any way, so take care of yourself and don’t do anything stupid.

5k raceHi everybody! I’m Steve and I am also an age ending in 5 (Hint: not 15). I’m a 3rd year PhD student in electrical engineering at NCSU and I work in semiconductor fabrication so I get to wear a bunny suit in a clean room a lot of the time. I’m working on making low power wearable gas sensors for monitoring your personal environment. Here is a picture of Amanda and I after my first 5k race wear she came in second place and I also finished eventually. I’m trying to become a runner in case tigers escape from a zoo although I think it could also have other benefits.

Indy

Here is our dog, Indiana Bones. We call her Indy for short. She’s the second cutest of the bunch and she’s kinda neurotic and scared of life. Her baseline state is mild panic and only goes up from there. She’s very entertaining so I’m sure you’ll see a lot more of her on our blog 😀

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s